Gratitude

08/20/2011 Comments Off on Gratitude

Gratitude Definitions: gratitude 1. a strong feeling of appreciation to someone or something for what they have done to help you  2. the quality or feeling of being grateful or thankful.

“Gratitude is the sign of noble souls”

Aesop

Gratitude is one of the sincerest forms of worship. (Source – Let There Be Light by Bernice Simpson Dittmer, attributed there to Tomochichi, Yamacraw Indian chief and friend of the first settlers in Oglethorpe’s colony of Georgia)

“Gratitude has been such a powerful exercise for me. Every morning I get up and say a thank you. Every morning when my feet hit the floor, ‘Thank You.’ And then I start running through what I’m grateful for, as I’m brushing my teeth and doing the things I do in the morning. And I’m not just thinking about them and doing some rote routine. I’m putting it out there and I’m feeling the feelings of gratitude.” James Ray

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.” ~ Melody Beattie

“To forget a good turn is not good, and good it is To forget at once what isn’t good.” Tirukkural 0108

“Heaven and earth are scant repayment For help rendered where none was received.” Thiru Kural Verse 101

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gratitude at Simple Truths.

meta

