Oneness

08/13/2011 Comments Off on Oneness

Oneness defined: a strong feeling of closeness or affinity; union

“As the different streams having their sources in different places all mingle their water in the sea, so, O Lord, the different paths which men take through different tendencies, various though they appear, crooked or straight, all lead to Thee.” ~Swami Vivekananda, quoting from the Vedas at The World Congress of Religions

“It is my belief that in the Presence of God there is neither male nor female, white nor black, Gentile nor Jew, Protestant nor Catholic, Hindu, Buddhist, nor Muslim, but a human spirit stripped to the literal substance of itself before God.” — Howard Thurman, Creative Encounter

“Oneness with our Source is achieved by becoming like It, and Its essence is giving and sharing. Therefore in order to know our purpose and heed our ultimate call to inspiration, we must also become a being who’s more focused on sharing than on receiving.” Dr. Wayne Dyer “Inspiration, Your Ultimate Calling”

“And I saw that the sacred hoop of my people was one of many hoops that made one circle.” ~ Black Elk (Meditations of John Muir: Nature’s Temple)

“Our ability to reach unity in diversity will be the beauty and test of our civilization.”
~ Mahatma Gandhi

“By the study of different religions we find that in essence they are one.” –  Swami Vivekananda

 

What is to be done, O Moslems? for I do not recognize myself. I am neither Christian, nor Jew, nor Gabr, nor Moslem. I am not of the East, nor of the West, nor of the land, nor of the sea; I am not of Nature’s mint, nor of the circling’ heaven. I am not of earth, nor of water, nor of air, nor of fire; I am not of the empyrean, nor of the dust, nor of existence, nor of entity. I am not of India, nor of China, nor of Bulgaria, nor of Saqsin I am not of the kingdom of ‘Iraqian, nor of the country of Khorasan I am not of the this world, nor of the next, nor of Paradise, nor of Hell I am not of Adam, nor of Eve, nor of Eden and Rizwan. My place is the Placeless, my trace is the Traceless; ‘Tis neither body nor soul, for I belong to the soul of the Beloved. I have put duality away, I have seen that the two worlds are one; One I seek, One I know One I see, One I call. He is the first, He is the last, He is the outward, He is the inward; I know none other except ‘Ya Hu’ and ‘Ya man Hu.’ I am intoxicated with Love’s cup, the two worlds have passed out of my ken ; I have no business save carouse and revelry. If once in my life I spent a moment without thee, From that time and from that hour I repent of my life. If once in this world I win a moment with thee, I will trample on both worlds, I will dance in triumph for ever. O Shamsi Tabriz, I am so drunken in this world, That except of drunkenness and revelry I have no tale to tell. Rumi

“What is praised is one, so the praise is one too, many jugs being poured into a huge basin. All religions, all this singing, one song. The differences are just illusion and vanity. Sunlight looks a little different on this wall than it does on that wall and a lot different on this other one, but it is still one light. Rumi

“Compassion flows from the understanding of the connection between all living beings.” Humanity Healing’s Twelve Keys of Spiritual Activism

“My highest nature, the imperishable Brahman, gives every
creature its existence and lives in every creature as the adhyatma. My action
is creation and the bringing forth of creatures. The adhiyajna, the supreme
sacrifice, is made to me as the Lord within you.” -Bhagavad Gita 8:3-4 Excerpted from The Bhagavad Gita, translated by Eknath Easwaran,©1985. nilgiri.

Two Friends

A certain person came to the Friend’s door and knocked. “Who’s there?” “It’s me.” The Friend answered, “Go away. There’s no place for raw meat at this table.” The individual went wandering for a year. Nothing but the fire of separation can change hypocrisy and ego. The person returned completely cooked, walked up and down in front of the Friend’s house, gently knocked. “Who is it?” “You.” “Please come in, my self, there’s no place in this house for two. The doubled end of the thread is not what goes through the eye of the needle. It’s a single-pointed, fined-down, thread end, not a big ego-beast with baggage.” Rumi

“The knower and the known are one. Simple people imagine that they should see God as if he stood there and they here. This is not so. God and I, we are one in knowledge.” —Meister Eckhart

my place is the placeless, the trace of the traceless neither body or soul i belong to the Beloved, have seen the two worlds as One and that One called to and know: First, Last, Outer, Inner. only that breath breathing, human – being. Rumi version by Coleman Barks

When I am not, then there is One; when I intrude, then two. When the curtain of “I” and “Thou” is drawn aside, then do I become as I was. – Dadu, Jiwat Mritak

To the utterly at-one with Siva
there’s no dawn,
no new moon,
no noonday,
nor equinoxes,
nor sunsets,
nor full moons;

his front yard
is the true Benares,
O Ramanatha.

~ Devara Dasimayya (India, 10th cent)

“God has made different religions to suit different aspirations, times, and countries. All doctrines are only so many paths; but a path is by no means God Himself. Indeed, one can reach God if one follows any of the paths with whole-hearted devotion. One may eat cake with icing either straight or sideways. It will taste sweet either way.” — Sri Ramakrishna

“Eventually we’re all going to dance with God… it’s just going to take some of us longer to learn the steps.” — Deb Booth

“If you love everything, you will perceive the divine mystery in all things. Once you perceive it you will begin to comprehend it better every day. And you will come at last to love the whole world with an all-embracing love.” — Fyodor Dostoevsky

“A human being is a part of the whole, called by us ‘Universe,’ a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest — a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty.” — Albert Einstein

“When we speak of man, we have a conception of humanity as a whole, and before applying scientific methods to the investigation of his movement we must accept this as a physical fact. But can anyone doubt to-day that all the millions of individuals and all the innumerable types and characters constitute an entity, a unit? Though free to think and act, we are held together, like the stars in the firmament, with ties inseparable. These ties cannot be seen, but we can feel them. I cut myself in the finger, and it pains me: this finger is a part of me. I see a friend hurt, and it hurts me, too: my friend and I are one. And now I see stricken down an enemy, a lump of matter which, of all the lumps of matter in the universe, I care least for, and it still grieves me. Does this not prove that each of us is only part of a whole?
For ages this idea has been proclaimed in the consummately wise teachings of religion, probably not alone as a means of insuring peace and harmony among men, but as a deeply founded truth. The Buddhist expresses it in one way, the Christian in another, but both say the same: We are all one. Metaphysical proofs are, however, not the only ones which we are able to bring forth in support of this idea. Science, too, recognizes this connectedness of separate individuals, though not quite in the same sense as it admits that the suns, planets, and moons of a constellation are one body, and there can be no doubt that it will be experimentally confirmed in times to come, when our means and methods for investigating psychical and other states and phenomena shall have been brought to great perfection. Still more: this one human being lives on and on. The individual is ephemeral, races and nations come and pass away, but man remains. Therein lies the profound difference between the individual and the whole.”
Nikola Tesla

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oneness at Simple Truths.

meta

