Universal Brotherhood

11/17/2010 Comments Off on Universal Brotherhood

Universal Brotherhood definitions: UniversalBrotherhood

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“The universal brotherhood of man is our most precious possession, what there is of it” ~ Mark Twain

♥ ♥ ♥

“Would you think it odd if Hafiz said, “I am in love with every church, And mosque, And temple, And any kind of shrine, Because I know it is there, That people say the different names, Of the One God.” Hafiz (Source – Hafiz “Would You Think It Odd?” from Wayne Dyer – “Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life”, Verse 46 – Living Peacefully)

♥ ♥ ♥

“Our ability to reach unity in diversity will be the beauty and test of our civilization.” ~ Gandhi

♥ ♥ ♥

“I find in the Universe so many forms of order, organization, system, law and adjustment of means to ends, that I believe in a cosmic intelligence and I conceive God as the life, mind, order and law of the world. I do not understand my God, and I find in nature and history many instances of apparent evil, disorder, cruelty and aimlessness. But I realize that I see these with a very limited vision and that they might appear quite otherwise from a cosmic point of view. How can an infinitesimal part of the universe understand the whole? We are drops of water trying to understand the sea.

I believe that I am the product of a natural evolution. The logic of evolution seems to compel determinism, but I cannot overcome my direct consciousness of a limited freedom of will. I believe that if I could see any form of matter from within as I can see myself through introspection, I should find in all forms of matter something akin to what in ourselves is mind and freedom. I define “virtue” as any quality that makes for survival, but as the survival of the group is more important than the survival of the average individual, the highest virtues are those that make for group survival: love, sympathy, kindliness, cooperation. If my life lived up to my ideals I would combine the ethics of Confucius and Christ; the virtues of a developing individual with those of a member of a group. ~Will Durant – “This I Believe”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Tagged: ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Universal Brotherhood at Simple Truths.

meta