Inspirational Quotations

07/16/2010 Comments Off on Inspirational Quotations

  • “Our ability to reach unity in diversity will be the beauty and test of our civilization.” ~ Gandhi
  • ‎ ”I find in the Universe so many forms of order, organization, system, law and adjustment of means to ends, that I believe in a cosmic intelligence and I conceive God as the life, mind, order and law of the world. I do not unders…tand my God, and I find in nature and history many instances of apparent evil, disorder, cruelty and aimlessness. But I realize that I see these with a very limited vision and that they might appear quite otherwise from a cosmic point of view. How can an infinitesimal part of the universe understand the whole? We are drops of water trying to understand the sea.I believe that I am the product of a natural evolution. The logic of evolution seems to compel determinism, but I cannot overcome my direct consciousness of a limited freedom of will. I believe that if I could see any form of matter from within as I can see myself through introspection, I should find in all forms of matter something akin to what in ourselves is mind and freedom. I define “virtue” as any quality that makes for survival, but as the survival of the group is more important than the survival of the average individual, the highest virtues are those that make for group survival: love, sympathy, kindliness, cooperation. If my life lived up to my ideals I would combine the ethics of Confucius and Christ; the virtues of a developing individual with those of a member of a group. ~Will Durant – “This I Believe”

“Windows and doors are cut into a wall.   It is their emptiness that makes the windows and doors useful.
-Lao Tzu”

God made Truth with many doors to welcome every believer who knocks on them.
Kahlil Gibran
http://www.quotationspage.com/quotes/Kahlil_Gibran/

“IN MY FATHER’S HOUSE,THERE ARE MANY ROOMS.”
Jesus Christ [John 14:2]

“The mind may accept or deny that you are awareness,
but either way it can’t really understand.
It cannot comprehend. Thought cannot comprehend what is beyond thought.”
Adyashanti
http://livingunbound.net/inspiration/quotes-by-adyashanti

“If you try to win the war with your mind, then you’ll be at war forever.”
Arvis Justi
http://blog.gaiam.com/quotes/authors/arvis-justi

“Just
live that life. It doesn’t matter whether it is life or hell, life of
the hungry ghost, life of the animal, it’s okay; just live that life,
see. And as a matter of fact no other way. Where you stand, where you
are, that’s what your life is right there, regardless of how painful it is or how enjoyable it is. That’s what it is.”
by Taizan Maezum
http://www.quotereflection.com/quotes/author/91/taizan-maezumi

Neither is there Bodhi-tree,
Nor yet a mirror bright;
Since in reality all is void,
Whereon can the dust fall?

Hui Neng (638-713)
http://www.paralumun.com/zenquotes.htm

“All tyranny needs to gain a foothold is for people of good conscience to remain silent. ” -Thomas Jefferson

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We are born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us, it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” ~Marianne Williamson.com

When you are ultimately truthful with yourself, you will eventually realize and confess that, “I am Buddha, I am Spirit.” Anything short of that is a lie, the lie of the ego, the lie of the separate-self sense, the contraction in the face of infinity. The deepest recesses of your consciousness directly intersect Spirit itself, in the supreme identity. This is not a state you are bringing into existence for the first time, but simply a timeless state that you are recognizing and confessing – you are being ultimately truthful when you state, “I am Buddha, the ultimate Beauty.” – Ken Wilber http://www.kenwilber.com/home/landing/index.html

 

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspirational Quotations at Simple Truths.

meta

