Dishonesty

07/13/2010 § Leave a comment

Dishonesty defined: lack of honesty; a disposition to lie, cheat, or steal. A liability, enemy or one of treason for betrayal after trust.

****************************************************************

“Dishonesty is so grasping it would deceive God himself, were it possible”
– George Bancroft

Honesty is for the most part less profitable than dishonesty.
Plato

Regardless of the moral issue, dishonesty in advertising has proved very unprofitable.
Leo Burnett

Recommendation

Promise me,
promise me this day,
promise me now,
while the sun is overhead
exactly at the zenith,
promise me:

Even as they
strike you down
with a mountain of hatred and violence;
even as they step on you and crush you
like a worm,
even as they dismember and disembowel you,
remember, brother,
remember:
man is not our enemy.

Looking for Each Other

I have been looking for you, World Honored One.
since I was a little child.
With my first breath, I heard your call.
and began to look for you, Blessed One.
I’ve walked so many perilous paths,
confronted so many dangers,
endured despair, fear, hopes, and memories.
I’ve trekked to the farthest regions, immense and wild,
sailed the vast oceans,
traversed the highest summits, lost among the clouds.
I’ve lain dead, utterly alone,
on the sands of ancient deserts.
I’ve held in my heart so many tears of stone.

Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh (Thầy)

Unfaithfulness in the keeping of an appointment is an act of clear dishonesty. You may as well borrow a person’s money as his time.
Horace Mann

The Quote Garden:

If you tell the truth you don’t have to remember anything.  ~Mark Twain

A truth that’s told with bad intent beats all the lies you can invent.  ~William Blake, “Auguries of Innocence,” Poems from the Pickering Manuscript

More at Simple Truths – Discussions/Harmonizing

– One Light Many Windows ~ the light forum

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dishonesty at Simple Truths.

meta

