Death

07/13/2010 § Leave a comment

death the total and permanent cessation of all the vital functions of an organism. the end of life.

 

Contemplation on No-Coming, No-Going

This body is not me.

I am not limited by this body.
I am life without boundaries.
I have never been born,
and I have never died.

Look at the ocean and the sky filled with stars,
manifestations from my wondrous true mind.

Since before time, I have been free.
Birth and death are only doors through which we pass,
sacred thresholds on our journey.
Birth and death are a game of hide-and-seek.

So laugh with me,
hold my hand,
let us say good-bye,
say good-bye, to meet again soon.

We meet today.
We will meet again tomorrow.
We will meet at the source every moment.
We meet each other in all forms of life.

BELL ~By Thich Nhat Hanh Source – ‘Plum Village Chanting and Recitation Book’ p 200

The day I’ve died, my pall is moving on –
But do not think my heart is still on earth!
Don’t weep and pity me: “Oh woe, how awful!”
You fall in devil’s snare – woe, that is awful!
Don’t cry “Woe, parted!” at my burial –
For me this is the time of joyful meeting!
Don’t say “Farewell!” when I’m put in the grave –
A curtain is it for eternal bliss.
You saw “descending” – now look at the rising!
Is setting dangerous for sun and moon?
To you it looks like setting, but it’s rising;
The coffin seems a jail, yet it means freedom.
Which seed fell in the earth that did not grow there?
Why do you doubt the fate of human seed?
What bucket came not filled from out the cistern?
Why should the Yusaf “Soul” then fear this well?
Close here your mouth and open it on that side.
So that your hymns may sound in Where- no-place!
Rumi

“For what is it to die but to stand naked in the wind and
to melt into the sun?  And what is it to cease breathing,
but to free the breath from its restless tides, that it may
rise and expand and seek God unencumbered?”
– Kahlil Gibran, The Prophet (Source – Jesus, Buddha, Krishna, Lao Tzu – The Parallel Sayings – The Common Teachings of Four Mystical Traditions edited by Richard Hooper)

“There is no death. Only a change of worlds.” Chief Seattle



eath ~ Hovers on muted wings,

While we

Wait breathlessly

And blind. ~L.Ron Hubbard

Life itself does not die.
Only the physical organism dies.
Not even a personality, apparently, dies.
Death then, in truth,
is a limited concept
of the death of the physical part
of the organism.
Life and the personality,
apparently, go on.
The physical part of the organism
ceases to function.
And that is death.
L. Ron Hubbard ~ Self Analysis


Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Death at Simple Truths.

meta

