Compassion

07/13/2010 § Leave a comment

Compassion Defined: a feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another who is stricken by misfortune, accompanied by a strong desire to alleviate the suffering.

Call Me by My True Names

Do not say that I’ll depart tomorrow
because even today I still arrive.

Look deeply: I arrive in every second
to be a bud on a spring branch,
to be a tiny bird, with wings still fragile,
learning to sing in my new nest,
to be a caterpillar in the heart of a flower,
to be a jewel hiding itself in a stone.

I still arrive, in order to laugh and to cry,
in order to fear and to hope.
The rhythm of my heart is the birth and
death of all that are alive.

I am the mayfly metamorphosing on the surface of the river,
and I am the bird which, when spring comes, arrives in time to eat the mayfly.

I am the frog swimming happily in the clear pond,
and I am also the grass-snake who, approaching in silence, feeds itself on the frog.

I am the child in Uganda, all skin and bones, my legs as thin as bamboo sticks,
and I am the arms merchant, selling deadly weapons to Uganda.

I am the twelve-year-old girl, refugee on a small boat, who throws herself into the ocean after being raped by a sea pirate, and I am the pirate, my heart not yet capable of seeing and loving.

I am a member of the politburo, with plenty of power in my
hands, and I am the man who has to pay his “debt of blood” to, my
people, dying slowly in a forced labor camp.

My joy is like spring, so warm it makes flowers bloom in all
walks of life.
My pain if like a river of tears, so full it fills the four oceans.

Please call me by my true names,
so I can hear all my cries and laughs at once,
so I can see that my joy and pain are one.

Please call me by my true names,
so I can wake up,
and so the door of my heart can be left open,
the door of compassion. ~Thich Nhat Hanh

“Never apologize for showing feeling. When you do so, you apologize for the truth.” – Benjamin Disraeli

“You know, there’s a lot of talk in this country about the federal deficit. But I think we should talk more about our empathy deficit – the ability to  put ourselves in someone else’s shoes; to see the world through the eyes of those who are different from us – the child who’s hungry, the steelworker who’s been laid-off, the family who lost the entire life they built together when the storm came to town. When you think like this – when you choose to broaden your ambit of concern and empathize with the plight of others, whether they are close friends or distant strangers – it becomes harder not to act; harder not to help.” – Barack Obama

“The act of compassion begins with full attention, just as rapport does. You have to really see the person. If you see the person, then naturally, empathy arises. If you tune into the other person, you feel with them. If empathy arises, and if that person is in dire need, then empathic concern can come. You want to help them, and then that begins a compassionate act. So I’d say that compassion begins with attention.” – Daniel Goleman

My dear heart
never think you are better than others.
Listen to their sorrows with compassion.
If you want peace, don’t harbor bad thoughts
do not gossip and
don’t teach what you do not know.

– Rumi –
Source

“The vicious cycle of poverty …. has been clearly articulated and is widely known. What is less obvious and goes almost completely unacknowledged is the vicious cycle of wealth. There is no recognition of the trap that wealth so often is, and of the suffering of the wealthy: the loneliness, the isolation, the hardening of the heart, the hunger and poverty of the soul that can come with the burden of wealth.…. the wealthy …. need as much compassion as anyone else on earth. You must open your heart to them and become their student and their teacher…. Open your compassion and include them. “–Lynne Twist (excerpt ~ The Soul of Money) Mother Teresa

“A good motivation is what is needed: compassion without dogmatism, without complicated philosophy; just understanding that others are human brothers and sisters and respecting their human rights and dignities. That we humans can help each other is one of our unique human capacities. ” Inspiration by: Tenzin Gyatso, 14th Dalai Lama

“A human being is part of a whole, called by us the universe. A part limited in time & space. He experiences himself, his thoughts & feelings, as something separated from the rest a kind of optical delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires & to affection for a few persons nearest us. Our task must be to free persons nearest us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circles of compassion to embrace all living creatures & the whole of nature in its beauty.” Einstein

“Compassion is the basis of morality.” ~ Arnold Schopenhauer

“Compassion is an ornament of the eyes. Without it eyes are deemed sores.” Tirukkural 0575

” With kindness, with love and compassion, with this feeling that is the essence of brotherhood, sisterhood, one will have inner peace. This compassionate feeling is the basis of inner peace. ” – Tenzin Gyatso

more at The Light Forum

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Compassion at Simple Truths.

meta

