07/13/2010 § Leave a comment

Chakras Definition Chakras

What are Chakras?
The word ‘chakra’ is derived from a Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’; but perhaps even a better translation would be spinning wheel. If you could
see chakras (as many of us whom work with them do) you would be able to
see each primary chakra as a spinning vortex or wheel of energy;
spinning inward from the front of your body towards the center point of
that chakra on the kunilini and then spinning outward from that same
point from your back. source Caroline Myss says there are seven graces, which she connects with the seven chakras.  In her book, “Defy Gravity: Healing Beyond the Bounds of Reason”, Myss provides a prayer for invoking each one.
In capsule form, they are:

> Reverence (first chakra)
Enables us to see that life is an interconnected field of cosmic activity, with beginnings and endings to divine consciousness.

> Piety (second chakra)
Brings out our spiritual instincts and draws us to interact with those in need.

> Understanding (third chakra)
Opens us to see beyond the illusion of circumstances and understand the deeper truth.

> Fortitude (fourth chakra)
Keeps us steady and alert in times of chaos and uncertainty.

> Counsel (fifth chakra)
Grounds mystical truth with human reason.

> Knowledge (sixth chakra)
Reveals the nature of the Divine.

> Wisdom (seventh chakra)
Reveals who we are, how we are living, and how we are using the power of our creative souls, and recognizes that pain and suffering are part of the
human experience.

Myss believes that by turning to these inner resources of the seven graces and using them in combination with our external abilities, we become whole human beings. Source – Science of Mind magazine, “Navigating the Weightless Territory of the Mystical Realm” by Barbara Stahura Caroline Myss, Defy Gravity: Healing Beyond the Bounds of Reason, Hay House

Kelly Wallace in the Tuscon Examiner article said: “Although not everyone believes in chakras, and some people don’t know much about them, a good way to think of them is as energy centers in your body, soul, and mind. They function as transformers, taking the energy from the environment and your own thoughts and emotions, and then move it into and around your body. You can also take your own chakra energy and focus it outward to others.

We won’t get into anything lengthy here, but the function, location and colors of the seven major chakras are:

Location: crown of the head
Colors : white or indigo
Functions : Divine connection and communication

Location : third eye, center of forehead

Color : purple
Functions : intuition, psychic center

Location : throat
Color : blue
Functions : communication, sharing information, soul expression of desires

Location : heart
Colors : green, pink, or gold
Functions : healing energy, loving relationships

Location : solar plexus
Color : yellow
Functions : mental, intellectual, self esteem, power

Location : abdomen
Color : orange
Functions : feelings of self and others, creativity


Location : lower hips and genital area
Color : red
Functions: instinct, survival, sexuality

A good exercise for tuning into your chakras to see if any are out of balance is to take time out to focus on them once a week  or whenever you feel the need.  Simply go to a quiet place like your bedroom or park and close your eyes.  Take a deep breath in through your nose then let it out slowly through your mouth as if you’re blowing on a cup of hot tea.  Do this up to ten times.

Once you feel relaxed, tune in to your chakras.  As you do this, think about each one, it’s color, purpose, and see how it feels to you.  Does one chakra seem very bright or dim? What images do you get off each chakra? Do any feel hot or cold?  Sometimes you can tell where you need healing or where to pay more attention by tuning into your chakras.

If you have problems in various areas of your life, take a look at which chakra that relates to. This will give you a good idea of where you should be focusing your healing program.

For example, if you have relationship troubles or with sex in general, you may find that your root chakra is too dim, too bright, or just feels off.  Do you hate sex?  Can’t get enough? Do your relationships end before they even begin?  Or do always attract the wrong type of person?

Perhaps you’re very shy or always try to make people laugh.  This can show problems with the second chakra which pertains to how you feel about yourself and others.  Do you have low self-esteem?  Do you lack confidence?  Do you wish to be more independent?

If you haven’t thought about chakras before, or were intrigued but unsure, just think of them as colored energy centers. This makes it a lot easier to understand and much easier to work with them.  Over time you should be able to intuitively tune into your body and see what its trying to tell you then take action to correct any problems.”



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chakras at Simple Truths.


%d bloggers like this: